Tuesday, June 6, 2023
HomeNewsTwo 'Squad' Members Voted Against Honoring Law Enforcement Officers Killed In The...

Two ‘Squad’ Members Voted Against Honoring Law Enforcement Officers Killed In The Line Of Duty…

(TheConservativeNews.org) – Reps. Rashida Tlaib, D-Mich., and Cori Bush, D-Mo., were the only Democrats to vote against a resolution that memorialized police officers killed in the line of duty and expressed condolences to their loved ones.

The bill honored “the 556 law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty, including 224 officers killed in 2022, as well as 332 officers killed in previous years whose stories were recovered during 2022.”

“Why did Cori Bush and Rashida Tlaib just vote against a simple resolution to honor law enforcement officers during National Police Week?” Rep. Troy Nehls, R-Texas., asked after the vote.

Other members of the progressive caucus including Reps. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, D-N.Y., Ilhan Omar, D-Minn., and Ayanna Pressley, D-Mass., all voted in favor of the resolution.

Tlaib and Bush said in a joint statement:

“Let us be clear: the health and safety of every one of our community members — including our first responders — is a top priority for us.

“But this resolution is not a referendum on support for the safety of first responders. 

“It is a document intended to advance Republicans’ false narrative around supporting law enforcement and gaslight the public about where they stand.”


Most Popular